I’m being tracked!

So I decided to check out some of the current apps on the market that are intended to be location services for families. I installed just about every one that’s out there to test them out about a week ago.

I was extremely surprised this morning when I received an unsolicited email from one service that I had signed up for. The email goes as follows:

“Hi *edited for privacy*,

Thanks for installing *edited* – we hope you’re loving it!

It looks like you’re spending time in a few locations that you haven’t set up places for.

You currently have 2 places setup to receive notifications. If you’d like to be notified about any of the following locations:

Yankee Division Hwy, *edited*
Yankee Division Hwy, *edited*
Soldiers Field Rd, *edited*
Raymond St, *edited*

You can add them by tapping on them in your history feed (tap *[username] edited*, then ‘History’ in the top right of the screen, then ‘Add notifications’).

*map should be here showing all of my locations for the past week*

Check out the videos at *edited* for a tour of some more great features!

Cheers,

*edited*

If you’d like to unsubscribe and stop receiving these emails click here.”

Needless to say, I was absolutely shocked. I had absolutely no idea that the application was even on. Was I ever informed (as a child) that my location was being pulled? Of course not.

Big brother? I tend to think so…if I hadn’t signed up for both an adult and a child account, I wouldve never even known that this service was being used by my *parents* until I received the email saying that they had been tracking me for a week. Maybe I should thank them. After-all, now I can ask my *parents* what the heck is going on. Thanks company-who-shall-not-be-named….yet.

